Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin Review

3/5

I received this book from Netgalley for a review!

This book only took me a while to review because at first I was having trouble with my Nook.
The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin is about a boy named Nicholas whose parents are murdered by two men in search of the Sins. Before Nicholas was born, his parents put within him The Sins, or The Seven Deadly Sins, Pride, Greed, Envy, ect. Once he is older, he is tricked by a snake into eating an apple from The Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil freeing The Sins and damaging his innocence. He is given a chance, and with his friend Amy at his side, the two travel to Demonio to defeat the Sins and save the world.
For starters, I really enjoyed this book, I mostly wanted to read it because it was a Young Adult adventure with a Christian theme. I wasn’t let down.
The writing in this book was done really well! Jonathan L. Ferrara is a really talented author and I enjoyed his descriptions, even if they did creep me out. The only problem I had with the style was some of the dialogue felt a bit rushed, like the characters would respond too fast, without so much as a thought or pause. One character would say something and the other would reply right away, which isn’t a bad thing it just felt a bit strange.
The Sins were taken down way to easily, another con to this book. I know there are seven of them and you can’t write pages and pages of tough battle, if you did that you would lose a lot of the other elements like the friendship between Amy and Nicholas. Every time a Sin was introduced, from what I recall, they were introduced using a suddenly, for example: Suddenly the wind blew, or suddenly there was fire (not exact examples but you get my point.) A few paragraphs later, the Sin would be defeated just like that.
Another thing was the characters themselves, Nicholas’ friends in the begining served little to no purpose and even though Theodore comes in later, it still felt like they were pointless to the plot. Nicholas never really developed as a character, he stayed the same no matter what happened.
I did like the mystery of who Amy was, even though I kept guessing I never did guess right. She kept the story interesting, she always stayed by his side to help him no matter what!
Overall, I’ve never read a book like The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin, I mean that in a good way. This book did have some Christian themes, taking place in a Catholic school and quoting a part of the Bible. They talked a bit about God, and a whole lot about The Garden of Eden which didn’t bother me at all. I’m a Christian so I just found it very interesting to read this book, even if it wasn’t 100% accurate (it is a young adult fiction book after all!)
I would recommended this book to people who don’t mind if there is a Christian theme, and enjoy a good adventure.

2 thoughts on “The Blackwell Family Secret: The Guardians of Sin Review

Leave a Reply

