Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Two Girls Staring At The Ceiling Review

 2.5/5

Usually, I don’t read these kinds of stories. I would rather have books with full sentences, description, details, thoughts rather then read ones told in verse. Not that there’s anything wrong with it, but rather, they just don’t interest me. There are only two reasons why I picked up Two Girls Staring at the Ceiling, okay,three.

One being the way Lucy Frank writes her story in verse. Right in the middle of the page is a line, representing the curtain that separates the two main girls in the hospital. On one side is Chess, the main character, the other side is Shannon the main side character (if that makes sense). This idea seemed so original, something I have never heard of, something that intrigued me so much I decided to read the type of book that I really don’t like.

Second reason is I wanted to try reading verse books, I never had before, never really planned on it, but I did. Was I disappointed? Uh, a little bit, the story was very fluid, but it wasn’t at the same time. I wanted a quick book to read, something to help me pass the time, which helped so much.

Third reason is the mystery behind Chess’ illness and who the guy she fell in love with. Both of the questions are vaguely answered, or at least, were so subtle that I didn’t understand them.

Anyways, if you want to read books told in verse, books about friendship, girls in the hospital or a book with a mystery, this is the one for you.

 

5 thoughts on “Two Girls Staring At The Ceiling Review

  1. I absolutely love that cover. It’s gorgeous. A book in verse, wow, I have never read one. I might give this one a try just for that.

    P.S. Your blog is too cute, love the design and the smart kitty.

    Like

    1. The cover is very eye catching! Books in verse are okay but I find them not my cup of tea… however you should still give this book a try 🙂 you never know, you may adore it!
      P.S. Thank you so much :)! The cat is adorable and I have to say I think I adore him/her :)! Thank you for the kind comment and have a great day 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

