Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

(Don’t You) Forget About Me

3/5

Geez, this book was so strange (in a goodish way) that I couldn’t put it down.

First of all I give it a 5/5 for creativity and imagination, the whole book was kind of like a Twilight Zone episode. Where and how will it end? Who knows? I mean who thinks *spoilers* that rats are magical creatures which, from what I understand, give the town its magical powers and once killed and packed into bricks, need to be feed by something human… *end spoilers* I for sure did not think of that as a possibility so yeah, surprises are there. Surprises I never even saw coming, Piper is who/what now? Skylar can do what? Imagination really adds to this book making it seem fantastical but realistic all the while like I mentioned before, kind of like the Twilight Zone.

While I did like it, the book seemed to drag on in some places. I felt with the whole plot of the book it could have been a way shorter story with more emotion packed into it. Now that I think about it, what was the goal of the whole story? The ending was kind of confusing and strange (the whole book was strange) and left me thinking, ‘what just happened?’ But there were plot twists, oh yes glorious plot twists like I keep saying. Things you never thought would happen do happen and that is another one of the best things about this book!

Skylar is the main character with her sister, Piper, who after a fourth year leads a bunch of students to their death. Piper is then messing, Skylar believes she is in the reformatory and that this plan since childhood has thus begun. Of course, she doesn’t act on it because she is addicted to these purple pills, called Forget-me-nots, which makes hours hazy and help her forget bad events of the day leaving her to remember only the good ones. So she does not act on it.

Gardnerville is the setting of the story, a wonderful peaceful place, where people do not get sick and live for hundreds of years. No one knows why, no one questions it. New people come in, only if they are seeking it by a magical kind of train, the people get off and are then warned about the fourth year. The fourth year is kind of hard to explain but I’ll try. Every teen between the ages of 12-18 (I believe) are effected by years. The first year is okay, second year gets worse, all up until the dreaded fourth year where the teens get magical powers when their raging emotions carry them away. People die in fourth years, people get turned to animals, burned, morphed into strange things. I have no idea why this happens.

Overall this book was good in a sort of mysterious, fantasy kind of way. It’s one of those books you cannot just put down, one you have to finish. Really, it’s good. Except the ending I didn’t really like. OH! And the best part is, there is no love triangle. Yup, you heard me! No love triangle!

If you like mysteries, fantasy, or stories about finding yourself then this is the book for you.

Angelina review templet

4 thoughts on “(Don’t You) Forget About Me

Leave a Reply

