Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Schizo Review

 3/5

Miles is the ultimate unreliable narrator—a teen recovering from a schizophrenic breakdown who believes he is getting better . . . when in reality he is growing worse.

Driven to the point of obsession to find his missing younger brother, Teddy, and wrapped up in a romance that may or may not be the real thing, Miles is forever chasing shadows. As Miles feels his world closing around him, he struggles to keep it open, but what you think you know about his world is actually a blur of gray, and the sharp focus of reality proves startling. -goodreads.com

Usually I never read realistic fiction but when I read what Schizo was about I felt as though I had to. I’m all for hopeful journeys, human struggle (as long as you come through it), and sad novels that make you realize how good your life truly is.

Before this book I would say I knew little to nothing about Schizophrenia all I knew was the name. After reading this book I looked up what it really is and found out that the book, from the definition anyways, went along with the symptoms that is in the definition.

The definition I got from mayoclinic.org (if you want to read more about it just like on the website name, mayoclinic.org it’ll take you there.)

Schizophrenia is a severe brain disorder in which people interpret reality abnormally. Schizophrenia may result in some combination of hallucinations, delusions, and extremely disordered thinking and behavior.

Contrary to popular belief, schizophrenia isn’t a split personality or multiple personality. The word “schizophrenia” does mean “split mind,” but it refers to a disruption of the usual balance of emotions and thinking.

 

So if Schizophrenia isn’t at all like the definition, then I’m sorry for steering you the wrong way, I’ve never met, or read about anyone with Schizophrenia before.

Anyways, back to the book.

Schizo had one main story line, other than the main character trying to fight Schizophrenia and come to accept what he has. The other is a sort of mystery associated with his little brother Teddy who had gone missing. Miles blames himself for his brother kidnapping and promises to his family that he will find him, promises that he will make things better. He just has to. If he does, his mother will be happy, his sister won’t be so scared, his family can be whole again, something he wishes for very much.

I’m not going to go into too much detail about the above because I don’t want to spoil anything but trust me when I say this, Schizo has some pretty sad moments. A few that broke my heart for poor Miles. Mostly near the end.

My only problem with this book, something I find somewhat unbelievable, is the fact that almost all of the main characters in this book are underage and are allowed to drink and smoke. They swear a lot too.

Other than that though, this book is rather enjoyable. Some parts I felt dragged on, while others moved pace quickly and wonderfully. I think that if you tend to enjoy realistic fiction books then I think you will like Schizo just fine.

2 thoughts on “Schizo Review

Leave a Reply

