Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Fair Coin Book Review

5/5

Epraim is horrified when he comes home from school one day to find his mother unconscious at the kitchen table, clutching a bottle of pills. Even more disturbing than her suicide attempt is the reason for it: the dead boy she identified at the hospital that afternoon–a boy who looks exactly like him. While examining his dead double’s belongings, Ephraim discovers a strange coin that makes his wishes come true each time he flips it. Before long, he’s wished his alcoholic mother into a model parent, and the girl he’s liked since second grade suddenly notices him.

But Ephraim soon realizes that the coin comes with consequences –several wishes go disastrously wrong, his best friend Nathan becomes obsessed with the coin, and the world begins to change in unexpected ways. As Ephraim learns the coin’s secrets and how to control its power, he must find a way to keep it from Nathan and return to the world he remembers.- Goodreads.com

Wow. Wow. Wow! I don’t even know where to start… only that Fair Coin has made it to one of my top favorite books. E. C. Myers is a fantastic author, and Fair Coin is a fantastic book. Ok, calming down. I finished this book so quickly because I couldn’t put it down, it was a roller coaster ride of twists and turn’s, CRAZY plot twists and I loved it. From the moment I started reading it, I knew there was going to be something I enjoyed about it, I can’t just say one thing because I really liked it all. The book started a little slow for me, but it quickly picks up pace, making up for anything you disliked in the beginning. The story was very original, honestly I’ve read nothing like it and that’s one of the reasons I loved it as much as I did. Fair Coin is unlike any other science fiction young adult book I have read, and that is one of my favorite genres. The characters were simply amazing, I loved them and gosh did I feel emotions during certain spoilers. The villain is pure evil, NO JOKE! Pure evil genius and I love it! Every story needs a good bad guy, Fair Coin gets the award for this one (although I do think that the Hollowgast in the Peculiar Children series are more evil but still!) I love it when a bad guy makes me mad ^_^! OK DONE WITH THAT AND MOVING ON!

Another thing I enjoyed about Fair Coin was the characters and the worlds they lived in. Every world had subtle differences, some had huge ones, but it was always very interesting to see what each wish would bring Ephraim too. I loved Ephraim, he was an interesting character too. I loved how he handled every situation with some good old fashioned logic. He was smart, he was unique, he wasn’t perfect and unlike most YA books he had some flaws too. Same with Nathan, Zoe, Mary and Shelly, and Jena. Diverse characters all flawed and far from perfect ^_^! Very nice E. C. Myers, thank you for that!

Maybe, maybe I just liked this book so much because the last couple of books I read were all mostly the same thing. YA love triangles, YA romance with that mysterious cool boy and the BFF nerdy/friendly guy. Same story different world and names, Fair Coin had a love triangle, but in a different sort of way and NO! It wasn’t the leading factor in the story, it didn’t stop Ephraim from making wishes, it didn’t make him go nuts over love or anything, he just moved on you know? The whole story didn’t revolve around his love, but… well just read it, I don’t want to spoil anything.

I recommend this book if you want a nice refresher from typical YA love :)! Or if you like interesting, unique stories with a fantastic ending twist!!!!!

6 thoughts on “Fair Coin Book Review

Leave a Reply

