Random Stuff

30 (Mon)day Book Challenge, Week Two-Least Favorite Book

This weeks book challenge covers the dreadful least favorite book topic. Sadly, it’s a topic we know all too well for some stories. Now we shall rant.

Angelina’s first with this weeks and her is the Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.

cinr

For this one, I’m not going to rant way to much because I don’t want people to be upset by my feelings for this. So please keep in mind that this is my opinion, my opinion does not have to be your opinion and if you liked this particular book, cool.

In my English class we had the choice between either Cather in the Rye or The Secrete Life of Bees, after talking to one of my friends who thought I might like Catcher in the Rye better, I decided to read it.

I had high hopes.

My hopes were crushed, simple as that.

All I’m going to say is the main character irritates me to death! He swears all the time, contradicts himself, thinks strange thoughts and never does anything. Seriously? What happened through that whole story? (Spoiler) Basically he leaves school and goes home, while getting himself into strange situations and thinking vulgar thoughts about every human he passes. (End spoiler) That is my main summery of hate for this book.

Now Brianna’s least favorite book!

From what I remember, I really don’t have a book that I have ever marked as “least favorite.” Like Angelina, I did not like The Catcher in the Rye but for the purpose of this weeks Monday topic, I will chose a different book (and because I disliked that book for the same reasons listed above.)

alienated

(That cover is so beautiful!!!)

Alienated by Melissa Landers, my least favorite book. Recently I read that low star reviews, mainly one star means that the reader did not actually read the book. Well I read Alienated and gave it two full star, I would not think about giving it more or less.

Alienated was, to me, boring. It showed more then told the story, creating a boring, lifeless read.  It was dull and lacked anything interesting, other then the story and a few actually funny jokes. I found that the story lacked anything interesting, the begining as hard to get into and hard to stay focused on :/. The main characters weren’t so great either, I just found the overall book just meh.

I gave it two stars for effort and a good idea. I love the idea of an exchange program with aliens, it just sounds super cool. However, I did not enjoy the book like I wish I had.

Sorry Melissa Landers! :/

 

One thought on “30 (Mon)day Book Challenge, Week Two-Least Favorite Book

Leave a Reply

