Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty

 4/5

Every little girl goes through her princess phase, whether she wants to be Snow White or Cinderella, Belle or Ariel. But then we grow up. And life is not a fairy tale.

Cruelties come not just from wicked stepmothers, but also from ourselves. There are expectations, pressures, judgment, and criticism. Self-doubt and self-confidence. But there are also friends, and sisters, and a whole hell of a lot of power there for the taking. In fifty poems, Christine Heppermann confronts society head on. Using fairy tale characters and tropes, Poisoned Apples explores how girls are taught to think about themselves, their bodies, and their friends. -goodreads.com*

* The summary on goodreads.com is actually longer then this, so I shortened it for more space.

Poisoned Apples by Christine Heppermann is a small poetry book good for a quick read. Before I read this, I really didn’t understand what it could all be about. How do fairy tales mirror modern day life for some girls? How could someone make this work?

I can happily say that Christine Heppermann makes this book work. Combined along side picture, the poems inside show how life today can be cruel for some women. All of the poems show this, it is a feminist book. Some stories are about mean girls, others about anorexia or striving for to be the Fairest. I can honestly say, I was impressed.

First off, I am not a huge fan of poetry, although I do love Robert Frost. These poems go straight to heart since I myself am a girl and have actually suffered, or know someone who has suffered from these types of challenges. Trying to fit in, striving for perfection, yearning to be the best, pretties most striking girl are all a huge problem today. I see it in school, online, on tv, there is no escaping the reality.

Poisoned Apples is reality put on paper and printed into a neat little book. Girls can be treated like objects or abused or put down. This happens. This also happens for guys so I just feel the need to put that out there, girls aren’t the only ones…

Why did I give this a 3.5/5 instead of a four or five?

Mainly because I dislike poetry and some of these poems I thought were not the best. For me, I would rather stick with a story that has a main character and a full, laid out plot. I enjoy the climax, resolution and everything in between. This book does not have that, it has no plot, no main characters really. All of these poems were connected, and I felt that a lot of their ideas were repeated. For example the Anorexia poems came up a few times and for me, I would have liked a little more.

I don’t think this book could be for everyone. There were some adult(ish) themes in this book dealing with love. Not many but one or two poems, just thought I would say that in case.

This book would be for someone who loves a quick read or enjoys poetry. Heck if you are a feminist (or not) give it a try, you might like it a lot (or hate it, I don’t know you!)

4 thoughts on “Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty

Leave a Reply

