Random Stuff

Book Challenge (Mon)Day 1-Favorite Book EVER!!!!!!!

(Mon)Day #1: Favorite Book

To start off our first book challenge Monday, Angelina and I will discuss our favorite books. Starting with Brianna…

My favorite book is Mrs. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children hands down.

pc

For me there really is no competition because, well Ransom Riggs is my favorite author (followed by Patrick Ness!) The Peculiar Children series is a favorite of mine and Hollow City only rose the stakes even higher for the book, creating an even better more magical world then the first. I was brought into this series by the photography and how it added to the story, and boy does it give the book some flavor (chills people , chills!) The pictures fit perfectly the dark, fascinating mood.

Not to mention the fabulous book trailer!

The book is magical, so so so magical, did I mention it was magical? I adore the world Ransom Riggs created with a passion, to me it is the best book I have ever read. Written with a creepy interesting story line and amazingly cool characters! I adore Jacob, and Emma and all the other Peculiars.

Did I mention the bad guys? To me, they are the most vile of creatures. They send shivers down my spine and disgust me, they are such good villains. And what is a good story if it has no good villain?

(I don’t mean a good good villain…)

I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars 🙂

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

Love the description!

Final Note, this book is being made into a movie directed by Tim Burton!!! Please check it out and support both the movie and author.

 

Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for, here’s Angelina’s Day 1 Favorite Book:

I’m sure you all know, or might know, that I LOVE The Maze Runner by James Dashner, I rant and rave about it ALL the time. I think maybe there’s another book that is only a tad bit better in my opinion. One that literally blew my socks off.

You’re probably thinking, ‘whaaaaaaaaaaat? I thought you liked The Maze Runner best,’ but come on, I always talk about it.

Yup, little minion I do, well to my friends anyway.

My favorite book is Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

steelheart

Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary powers. The awed public started calling them Epics. But Epics are no friend of man. With incredible gifts came the desire to rule. And to rule man you must crush his wills.

Nobody fights the Epics…nobody but the Reckoners. A shadowy group of ordinary humans, they spend their lives studying Epics, finding their weaknesses, and then assassinating them.

And David wants in. He wants Steelheart – the Epic who is said to be invincible. The Epic who killed David’s father. For years, like the Reckoners, David’s been studying, and planning – and he has something they need. Not an object, but an experience.

He’s seen Steelheart bleed. And he wants revenge. -goodreads.com

Before this book I had never heard of Brandon Sanderson, boy am I sad about that. The way this book was written, the action, the drama, the intense emotions, all of it was simply amazing. Literally I could not put this stinkin’ book down at all. Never before had I ever read a book as captivating as this one. Why? Oh, why, had I not read it sooner?

Now, you may be wondering why I thought this book was so interesting, or captivating.

I have a few simple answers.

The very first words were so awesome I had to know what was happening.

(Somewhat spoiler) Another reason was this book is about evil super humans who enslave, in a way, human kind. (End somewhat spoilers). Seriously who thinks of that kind of idea, well I didn’t, but I’m glad Brandon Sanderson did. He did justice to the topic of super human people I don’t believe anyone could have done this story a better way then he did.

And no this was not Avenger like at all it was so much more.

Every moment had heart pounding, blood pulsing, hardcore parkour action. Written so wonderfully and elegantly, everything seemed to flow endlessly, the pieces fell into place perfectly.

Everything just screams

Really, it’s a book I would totally recommend to people. If you like super humans, action, or thrilling adventure this book is perfect for you. 5/5 stars!

 

Well there’s our first day challenge done! Feel free to tell us your favorite books as well we’d love to hear about them 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

