Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Splintered Review

4/5

OH MY GOSH WHAT A BEAUTIFUL COVER! I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by it’s cover but this is soooo cool.

When I first heard about Splintered I didn’t think I’d like it very much. But I love every story that takes place in a far away, magical land, places like Narnia, Neverland, Wonderland they are all such amazing sounding places, despite their dark sides. Since I do like these places/stories I realized maybe I just have to read this book.

I was not disappointed.

This book was simply amazing, with a few flaws. The story was very intriguing with twists and turns leaving you wanting for more and making you more shocked than the page before. It’s like a roller coaster ride in Wonderland. The description creates a vivid scene making me wish it was a movie because this one would be awesome sauce! Now, let me take you deeper into the wonder of Wonderland (haha!)

Let me say the characters in this story were, first of all, stunning. Alyssa never really fit in, she was cool, and tried to be her own person but hiding herself at the same time. He friend Jeb is a cool, lyoal guy with secrets of his own, and her childhood friend Morpheus (which is an awesome name) is a chilling, smug, magical guy. Plus there’s the typical Wonderland characters you know, the white rabbit, march hare, mad hatter, red queen, white queen, but with a twist you never saw coming. After a while the characters really add up and it was hard for me to keep track of who was who with all the names and people.

A. G. Howard makes a diverse Wonderland, she expands her story through multiple places and lands, stunningly, like I said the description was beautiful. But when the characters come to a conflict, like fighting a certain monster, I feel as though the scenes are too short. Their problems overcome too quickly. This does not take away a lot from the book it just adds more room to learn more about this Wonderland we think we know so well. There were some things I never saw coming, moments where I thought to myself, “wow, just wow, now it all makes sense. DUH! Why did I not see this coming?” Even thinking about it now I can’t believe it. Out of all of these books becoming movies, why isn’t this one? Just why?

If you like those magical far away places such as Neverland, Narnia, anywhere in the Lord of the rings or even Wonderland this is the book for you. If you love magic, adventures, thrilling and sometimes horrifying scenes Splintered is the book for you.

Will Alyssa pass the tests thrown at her? Will she break her families curse? What await her in Wonderland? The answers lie in Splintered by A.G. Howard.

 

4 thoughts on “Splintered Review

Leave a Reply

