Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The Fault in Our Stars Review

5/5

The Fault in Our Stars is Times #1 fiction book of the year and is also on its way as a movie, so this being said, I had to read it. The concept itself sounded really good, and in all reality, I was more motivated to start this after reading This Star Won’t Go Out, which is about a girl named Esther Grace Earl, a friend of John Green, and a member of Cattitude.

On a random note, here is the charity set up in Esthers memory:

http://tswgo.org/

Back to the Fault in Our Stars.

All of the high ratings and recommendations make the book sound actually better than it is, but then again I did enjoy the book a lot. Being John Greens fourth book, I honestly think that it was written very well. Hazel, the main character, is enjoyable and the budding love of the “plot twist” Augustus Waters, really makes the book more compelling for me. I am a fan of love stories, and yes, Hazel and Gus’s love is on the top of my list. Though, John Green does a strange thing with his characters, making them talk differently then most teenagers I can think of, this only makes them seem more interesting. As the book went on, the more I became attached to it and the more I did want to read it. The ending (no spoilers) I felt was perfect, and really, really, really did bring on “the feels.” I did give this book a 3/5 star rating though for only one reason, although I did enjoy the book and loved it, I felt that the characters seemed a little flat and the story could have been…more. Hazel and Gus feel in love to quickly and some events (still no spoilers) felt rushed as well, in short: the book is wonderful, just to fast paced for me.

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”

But if you like realistic books that bring the feels crashing down on you, read The Fault in Our Stars before the movie! Or after!!!! OR neither….

Grab your tissue box for this one!!!

5 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars Review

  1. I thought this book was completely over-rated. But then, I’m not really a fan of John Green’s books. In fact, I posted about it here
    plotholesbegone.wordpress.com/2014/01/28/green-do-you-think-hes-a-genius/

    Like

Leave a Reply

