Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

The One Review

 ✭✭✭✭✭ /5

The Selection changed the lives of thirty-five girls forever. And now, the time has come for one winner to be chosen.

America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the competition approaches its end and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

From the very first page of The Selection, this #1 New York Times bestselling series has captured readers’ hearts and swept them away on a captivating journey… Now, in The One, Kiera Cass delivers a satisfying and unforgettable conclusion that will keep readers sighing over this electrifying fairy-tale long after the final page is turned -goodreads.com

When I first started The Selection Series, I honestly wasn’t a huge fan. All I wanted to know was if America got the Prince and if not who would win, other than that I disliked the first book. After that though the second book, The Elite, got better and now the final book, The One is amazing. For me, the whole series started off slow, it was boring and typical to me, a girl who loves a boy just happens to get involved in a love triangle with a prince, it really is an over used ideas. Love Triangles….gah… honestly I have had enough of them. Like I said though, The One was really good, everything about it just made me want to never put it down.

The whole girls coming to the castle to meet a prince and being eliminated is a lot like The Bachelor show…. but don’t let that bring you down or shy you away from the book. The Selection series is more then just eliminating girls, it brings a whole new element to it. For starters, the book is set in the future, but not like the future as in aliens and super cool laser guns (sorry!) but the future as in castes and inequality, evil kings, ect. Another thing about The Selection is, the rebels, yep rebels, they exist! The opposing ideas between the groups, the Northern Rebels, the Southern rebels and well, the monarchy, really add more intensity and suspense to the story. It always makes you wonder… if today will be a safe day, or a day where someone will die, because no one is ever safe!

The Selection series had it’s ups and downs, but more ups than downs, (first book excluded…). The 2nd book had me crying and holding on, now the 3rd book did the same, but I always had plenty of laughs and smiles shared with the characters and their little moments. Really, I did love the characters. Kiera Cass didn’t bring in 35 dull boring girls with one dull boring prince. She made them all unique in their own ways, some seemed down right evil, while others were funny, sweet, or quiet. Her characters changed with the plot so they weren’t boring and you could always expect something new.

I gave The One 5/5 stars because I loved it. A LOT! But like I said, the series did start off really, really slow for me, the 2nd book got better and again, I loved the 3rd one, did I mention I loved the 3rd one? I would recommend The One/The Selection series for people who love romance and young adult stories, or for people who like Princess haha, yeah…

One thought on “The One Review

Leave a Reply

