Book Reviews · Briannas Reviews

Paper Towns Review

✭✭✭✭ /5

When Margo Roth Spiegelman beckons Quentin Jacobsen in the middle of the night—dressed like a ninja and plotting an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows her. Margo’s always planned extravagantly, and, until now, she’s always planned solo. After a lifetime of loving Margo from afar, things are finally looking up for Q . . . until day breaks and she has vanished. Always an enigma, Margo has now become a mystery. But there are clues. And they’re for Q. -Barnes And Noble.com

                                       “Maybe all the strings inside him broke.”

Yet again, I have fallen in love with another John Green book. Paper Towns started off with a very interesting beginning which pulled you in and it had a compelling story to keep your attention. The main character, Quentin or Q, sets off to find Margo, a girl he loves but hardly knows, let alone understands. Quentin is well written character, and to me, seemed like he could be real, he was believable. Everything he did I really liked he refused to give up, he had character flaws, ect…His friends Radar and Ben reminded me a lot of some of my friends and just like the main character were realistic. Margo was another interesting character and I read some other reviews, a lot of people tended to dislike her, I feel otherwise. I haven’t read Looking for Alaska, but people compared Margo to Alaska, they felt she was a strange girl that the main boy couldn’t have. This is true, although I did like Margo. She was very clever,  her clues even had me confused and VERY interested. Her personality was different, unlike any character I have ever read honestly, and I read a ton. The book was a good story and to me, moved along well, not too slow, not too fast. I felt like his writing in this was one of his best John Green has done, this is my opinion though. I really liked his description and metaphors, not to mention the poetic detail. The story was unique, with all the jokes and the added drama, the mysterious element in the story  and devoted main character were a plus for me. This book however receives a 4/5 star rating mainly because of the ending, which I really wasn’t fond of. John Green is a fantastic writer, but his endings seem to be…. left up to you really. If you like endings like that, hey, read this book, if not, well you might not like it. The book is good though, really it is, the ending though felt lost to me, like it didn’t belong and I wished for something more. I really wished that it ended different, but in all reality, that cannot be changed, its John Greens ending, not mine.

Anyways, if you like mystery kind of stories about missing people, clues and (some) love, Paper Town could be for you.

10 thoughts on “Paper Towns Review

Leave a Reply

