Angelinas Reviews · Book Reviews

Words on Bathroom Walls Review

Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It’s Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut.

Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren’t there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who’s unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can’t.

Still, there’s hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.

Buy on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles or The Book Depository!

*I received an eArc from Netgalley which doesn’t impact my opinions 🙂 thank you for this opportunity!

Words on Bathroom Walls was originally one of the books that Brianna requested but then I went crazy on Netgalley and suddenly we had 20 books to read. In turn that caused me to stress read the books coming out the soonest so we could get them done xD. I take all of our request seriously and try to finish them all by the time they release so here we are.

What I Liked

-I went in to the story not knowing anything because of the above statement. However, Words on Bathroom Walls did strike deep in me because of the fantastic writing. I was drawn in to Adam’s story, he had an incredible voice that really connected with me for some reason. This connection made the whole story more emotional for me, I almost cried several times while reading some of the things he went through. The journal like entries also make it more personal with the reader because you get all his thoughts and view of the world. I thought it was well done in this aspect!

-The characters were also something I enjoyed for multiple reasons. One being that they each were different and they all had their own qualities. Maya, for example, was the smart straightforward friend while Dwight was more of a talker. It was nice to have different characters who were such great friends and who supported one another. I loved to see them grow closer as the story progressed.

What I Didn’t Like

-I don’t have much to complain about when it comes to Words on Bathroom Walls other than a few, more personal, opinions which I won’t state here. There was nothing wrong with the book that I could find.

Overall

-Words on Bathroom Walls was a nice touching story that had a wonderful cast of characters. There are a few things I personally didn’t like but I doubt it would bother most people. I would recommend giving this one a try if you want an emotional experience.

4/5

 

Leave a comment